Part 2:

FACING THE AGONY OF GETHSEMANE

Deliverance calls for us to claim Gods promises. Can I make a suggestion: if you are struggling with fear, try this exercise. Take several 3*5 index cards. Write on them the verses in the Bible that promise deliverance from fear. Place the card in a prominent place in your house, car, and purse, on your desk. Then read them several times a day.

You see, overcoming Satan is a battle. It is a war. It is a fight to be fought and a race to be run. The battleground is our hearts— heart fitted for the journey. We must win this battle over fear, and, with Gods help, we can.

Here are several scriptures that promise deliverance:

Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you. He will not fail you or forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:6)

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His names sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me the presence of my enemies; you have anointed my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and loving kindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever (psalm 23:1-6)..

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the defense of my life, whom shall I dread? (Psalm 27.1).

The LORD is for me; I will not fear; what can man do to me? (Psalm 118.6).

Do not be afraid of sudden fear nor of the onslaught of the wicked when it comes; For the lord will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being caught (proverbs 3.25-26).

The fear of man brings a snare, but he who trusts in the LORD will be exalted (proverbs 29.35).

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, and surely I will uphold you with my righteous right hand (Isaiah 41.10).

Friends, take these passages, along with others you might find, and soak them in prayer. And the next time Satan fills your heart with fear, you ll be ready! Like David, you can pull out five — or more – smooth stones from your arsenal and slay the giant of debilitating fear.

Listen to David and the Hebrews writer as we put them together:

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change and though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea”…. ‘I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU; so that we confidently say, THE LORD IS MY HELPER, I WILL NOT BE AFRAID. WHAT WILL MAN DO TO ME? (Psalm 46.1-2; Hebrews 13.5b,6).

Deliverance results in our filling our hearts and lives with righteousness.

Do you remember the parable Jesus told about a man who was demon possessed? He was healed; his heart was cleaned; he was made fit for the journey. But instead of filling his heart with good things he left it empty. You know the rest of the story. Satan found his empty heart and filled it with all the evil he could muster.

We must protect our hearts by filling them with good thoughts, righteous deals, love, and good works.

Listen to Paul’s admonition to us:

Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things. The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you (Philippians 4.8,9)

Did you he3ar what happens: “The God of peace will be with you “. No fear, no terror, no uncertainty, but God and His peace. Folks this is what I want.

Hear what John says: There is no fear in love; but perfect love cast out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love” (1 John 4.18).

Friends, I must tell you that I don’t understand this verse. But the good news is that we don’t have to understand it to accept it, claim it, and enjoy its promise. Right? Just practice it. Love God with all our heart, mind, body, soul, and love our neighbor as our self. And john says there will be no room for fear because perfect love casts out fear!

Scripture tells us to do whatever our hands find to do. why are we here and not in heaven? Paul says God saved us to do good works. Are we doing good works?

I know some people who are afraid of everything, because they do nothing!! Indeed, idle minds, idle hearts, idle hands are the devil’s workshop. Let me encourage you. If you are having trouble with fear, find something in the kingdom of God and go to work1

Karl Menninger was once asked, “If you felt sure you were on the brink of a nervous breakdown, what would you do>?” Do not remember what he said? He replied, “ I would find someone less fortunate than myself and I would serve them.” Serving others brings healing to our own heart.

There is nothing that we do away with fear more quickly than filling our mind with good thoughts, losing ourselves in love and service to others, and filling our lives with deeds.

Are you in the “garden of fear?” that can all change— and will— when you face your fears, take them to God, claim His promises, and fill your life in service to Him.

~ by ubcky4 on June 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
