PRAYING INTIMATELY PT.1

PRAYING INTIMATELY

Satan is frightened!

This chapter was a struggle for me to write. I experienced mixed feelings for two nights in a row. I felt both a fearful foreboding and a calm peace. I had difficulty falling asleep, which is usually not a problem for me. Even now as am writing, I am not sure how to interpret these feelings. I wonder—has this chapter caught Satan at tension?

Satan always worries when we begin to pray and to draw closer to God. Satan is better pleased when we Christians simply go through the religious motions, having no real, true transforming relationship with our Almighty God. Satan does not want Christians to feel comfortable enough with God to call him Abba, Father, or Daddy.” He much prefer Christians to be so intimidated by the prospect o addressing God himself that they keep silent, not praying at all. There is a spiritual battle going on inside each one of us, and only God can give us peace, strength, and true comfort. Prayer is a key weapon in this welfare and a pathway to intimacy with God. As I write, Satan is trying to distract me. Although I am worried and troubled in my heart and mind at this moment, God is telling me, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to me. And my peace transcends all understanding, will guard your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus”   (Philip 4.6-7, addition mine). Satan is frightened! There is magnificent power in prayer.

IMPORTANCE OF PRAYER

Nothing speaks more powerfully about the importance of prayer than the Bible’s promises. The scripture promises the presence of God  (matt 18.19-20), intimacy (PS. 145.18), spiritual growth (Jer 33.3). a quick reading of the prayer verses at the end of the chapter will reactivate your appreciatin for prayer.

The apostles and early Christians were clear on the need for continual prayer. Throughout the book of Acts, it was common practice for early Christians to be engaged in the simple and powerful act of prayer. When church related activities threatened to take the apostles away from  their devotional lives, they encourages the young churches to delegate deacons to these activities so the apostles could “give (their) attention to prayer and the ministry of the word (Acts 6.4). The apostle Paul was a prayer warrior and spoke about prayers many times. In his letter to the Thessalonians Paul encouraged its members to pray continually” (Thess. 5.17). To the Romans, he wrote¸’ be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” (Rom 12.12).

During his life here on earth, Jesus himself took time from his important work of healing, feeding, teaching and saving people in order to be refreshed and empowered by his father through prayer. Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed, (Mark 1.35).

Even though Jesus was God, he still began his day in solitude and prayer with his father and God before sunrise. Perhaps he understood that there is no better way to start the day than by going to God and communing with him. Early morning is such a peaceful time of the day; most people are still sleeping, the world seem so quiet, and it is the beginning of the of a new day. When we start off the day as Jesus did in solitude and prayer, we are drawn closer to God for his strength, love, hope, and faith to help us through our day. God remains us that he is with us no matter what happens and that he wants us to be close with him throughout the whole day. Remember when we come into his all-powerful, awesome presence, we are transformed into his likeness. When we go throughout the day and experience discouragement, disappointment, stress, frustration, tragedies, rejections, loneliness, and hurt, we are reminded to come back to God’s peaceful presence. He reminds us that he is our ultimate love and friend who will never desert us (Matt 28.20).

I find my day is more stressful when I neglect to start the day spending times with God in his word through prayer and meditation. However for many of us, the daily distractions of home interfere with having a peaceful, quiet time with God. Even Jesus himself found it necessary at times to leave the house and go off to a solitary place where he prayed to his father. Like Jesus, do you have a solitary to go to every morning and pray? If not, could you get creative and make a special place for prayer early in your day? Do you have an enclosed porch of a family room or den that would be empty very early in the morning?, What about the kitchen, before all of the activities begin? What about your Finished basement or the children’s play room?

~ by ubcky4 on July 1, 2009.

One Response to “PRAYING INTIMATELY PT.1”

  1. I enjoyed your writing I can see it comes from your heart.I learn early in life how important prayer is in our life.I have always beleived in the power of prayer.I have seen prayers answer and I know God hears us when we talk to him.I have had alot of heartaches in my lifetime and my son is going through life death experiences and with prayers I have seen miracles and have had alot of miracles in my own life.I have been near death and people praying brought me back. I have always heard Prayers goes up and Blessings come down and it is alot of truth in that statement.I thank you for writing on prayer because every one should be told how important prayer is in your life.

Leave a Reply

 
