Praying Intimately Pt.IV

PRAYING INTIMATELY PT.1V.

CONDITIONS OF EFFECTIVE PRAYER,

‘True prayer is an encounter with the Holy in which we realize not only our creatureliness and guilt, but also the joy of knowing that our sins are forgiven through the atoning death of the divine savior, Jesus Christ. In such an encounter, we are impelled not only to bow before God and seek his mercy, but also to offer thanksgiving for the grace that goes to undeserving sinner.”

Meaningful prayer is neither magical nor mechanical. It is personal and spiritual. Meaningful prayer is the honest talk that occurs between tow lovers.

Contrition:  “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”{2Chron.7: 14}

Wholeheartedness:  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and future. then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with al your heart’’’ {Jer.29: 11-13}

Faith:  “Have faith in God,” Jesus answered, ‘I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will by yours” {Mark 11:22-24}

Righteousness: – “therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. Elijah was a man just like us’ {James 5:16-17}

Obedience– “Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commandments and do what pleases him” {1John 3:21-22}

But I pray to you O LORD, in the time of your favor, in your great love, O GOD, answer me with your sure salvation.” {Ps.69:13}

Thanks for having gone with me through these series on Praying Intimately. May God answer us when we call on Him.

~ by ubcky4 on July 18, 2009.

One Response to “Praying Intimately Pt.IV”

  1. I have really enjoyed your articles on prayer.From personal experience i have seen miracles from the Power of Prayer.I had a Son -In-law that died 3 times and was brought back to life and we never expected him to lived but by the prayers of people all over the world god heard them and answer every prayer and now in a few weeks he will be coming home to his wife.God does hear prayer and He listens and answers them according to his will.I thank God he answer our prayers and my son will be back with his wife and family. God is Good and yes he does hear our prayers.This is a very good Article on prayer.So true to every word in it.

Leave a Reply

 
